Columbia Journalism School


Four prominent graduates to receive 2012 Alumni Award

November 22, 2011

Four prominent alumni of Columbia Journalism School will receive the 2012 Alumni Award. The winners are Gail Collins (Knight- Bagehot Fellow) ’82, Lolis Eric Elie ’86, John Fialka ’62 and Simon Li ’70.

The awards will be presented on Saturday, April 21, 2012, as a feature of the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism’s Alumni Weekend (April 20-21), which is also the kick- off of the School’s year-long Centennial Celebration. The awards ceremony will take place in Low Memorial Library on the Columbia campus.

The Alumni Awards are presented annually for a distinguished journalism career in any medium, an outstanding single journalistic accomplishment, a notable contribution to journalism education or an achievement in related fields. The awards, which represent recognition of excellence by professional peers, are highly prized by the Journalism School’s alumni, many of whom go on to become respected leaders in the field. The winners are selected by a panel of jurors composed of previous award winners, headed by David Peterkin ’82, chair of the Alumni Board.

Read the full press release

Select the academic degree that interests you: