Columbia Journalism School


Dart Center announces 2012 Ochberg Fellows

September 05, 2012

The Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism today announces the recipients of the 2012 Dart Center Ochberg Fellowships.
The Ochberg Fellowships were established in 1999 by the Dart Center for journalists seeking to deepen their reporting of traumatic events. Fellowships are awarded to outstanding mid-career journalists in all media who have specialized in covering violence, conflict and tragedy, including such issues as street crime, family violence, natural disasters, war and genocide.
This year for the first time, the Ochberg Fellowships were open to journalists from all continents.
The week-long Ochberg Fellowship offers journalists a unique opportunity to learn about the many dimensions of psychological trauma, to explore the ethical and craft challenges raised by their work and to forge relationships with colleagues who share their interests. Fellows attend seminars with leading experts in trauma science and journalism practice.
The 2012 Dart Center Ochberg Fellows are:
  • Maria Arce - - Argentina
  • Mohammed (K.P.M.) Basheer - The Hindu, India
  • Angelina Fusco - BBC Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
  • Alex Hannaford – Freelance, Texas
  • Stuart Hughes – BBC, United Kingdom
  • Maria Mataruse - Radio Voice of the People, Zimbabwe & South Africa
  • Maria Rosa Meneses - El Mundo, Spain
  • Tara Murtha - Philadelphia Weekly, Philadelphia
  • Ashley Powers - Los Angeles Times, Los Angeles
  • Alia Malek – Freelance, Syria
  • Ali Ahmad Safi - McClatchy Kabul bureau, Afghanistan
  • Sally Sara - Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Australia
  • Kevin Sites – Independent Journalist, Hong Kong
  • Dianne Solis - Dallas Morning News, Dallas
  • Jeremy Young - Al Jazeera English, Washington D.C.

The fellowship program is named in honor of Frank Ochberg, M.D., clinical professor of psychiatry at Michigan State University and a pioneering figure in the definition and treatment of post-traumatic stress disorder, Stockholm Syndrome and other responses to violence, trauma and terror. Ochberg, winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies, is chairman emeritus of the Dart Center.

For more information, including biographies of the Fellows, read the full press release.

Select the academic degree that interests you: