Columbia Journalism School


2013 duPont winners announced

December 18, 2012



Fourteen winners of the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards were announced today by Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism. Five of this year’s recipients featured international reporting including stories from CBS News, Current TV, FRONTLINE on PBS, and NPR. For the first time, two awards will be given to documentary films in theatrical release: one to “Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry,” and one to “Bully.”

USA Today will receive its first duPont Award for multimedia reporting, and StoryCorps will win its first duPont silver baton. Five awards will go to local television and radio stations: KCET, KLAS-TV, WVUE-TV, WXYZ-TV and a partnership with witf, WHYY and NPR.
“This exceptional group of journalists represents the best of broadcast, documentary and digital news reporting today,” said Bill Wheatley, outgoing duPont Jury chair, former executive vice president of NBC News and adjunct faculty member at Columbia’s Graduate School of Journalism. “These groundbreaking stories set the standard for excellent reporting; journalists gained access and insight into critical issues in the public interest, and they are telling these important stories in new ways. Collaborating news organizations are also producing outstanding work.”

Christiane Amanpour, CNN’s chief international correspondent and global affairs anchor for ABC News, and Byron Pitts, contributor toCBS News “60 Minutes” and chief national correspondent for the CBS Evening News, will host the duPont Awards ceremony on Tuesday, January 22, 2013, at Columbia University’s Low Memorial Library.

Press release
Select the academic degree that interests you: