Columbia Journalism School

Alumni Board 2013-2014

Fiona_kirk00541
 

Dear fellow alumni,

We are honored to be part of the Alumni Board, working to strengthen the ties between the Journalism School and its graduates. We are a diverse group, representing the many professions and avocations pursued by J-School alumni, but we are unified in our goal to represent you. To that end, we would like to hear from you. Please contact any of us with your questions, concerns and ideas.

Fiona Kirk ’00
Chair

 

 


Chair

Fiona Kirk ’00, Freelance Journalist, New York, N.Y., fionajkirk[at]gmail.com

Vice Chair

Andrew Pergam ’01, Director of Video, The Washington Post, andrew.pergam[at]gmail.com

The Board

Myron Belkind ’62, Professorial Lecturer, George Washington University’s School of Media and Public Affairs, Washington, D.C., myron.belkind[at]verizon.net
Eliza Browning ’08, Director, Crane Digital, New York, N.Y., elizabrowning[at]gmail.com
Rebecca Castillo ’06, Assistant Director, Columbia Scholastic Press Association, New York, N.Y., rc73[at]columbia.edu
Jane Eisner ’78, Editor, The Forward, New York, N.Y., eisner[at]forward.com
Abigail Goldman ’93, Business Reporter, Los Angeles Times (retired), Beverly Hills, Calif., abigail.goldman[at]gmail.com
Michael Kubin ’05, CEO and Managing Editor of Ionic Media, Inc., New York, N.Y., mekubin[at]earthlink.net
Richard Levine ’63, President, Dow Jones News Fund, Inc., Princeton, N.J., richard.levine[at]dowjones.com
Margaret McBride Lehrman '70, NBC News (retired), Washington, D.C., mml79[at]columbia.edu
James Rosenberg ’97, Head of Social Media, World Bank, Washington, D.C., jrosenberg[at]worldbank.org
Barry Rothfeld ’73, President and Publisher of the Poughkeepsie Journal, Hopewell Junction, N.Y., brothfeld[at]poughkeepsiejournal.com
Julia Flynn Siler ’85, Author and contributing writer, Wall Street Journal, Ross, Calif., julia.flynnsiler[at]gmail.com
Gayle Pollard Terry ’73, Deputy Director of Media and Communications, Los Angeles United School District, Los Angeles, Calif., gpt.elyag[at]gmail.com
Thomas Watkins ’84, News Editor, CNN, Atlanta, Ga., thomasgwatkins[at]yahoo.com
Rick Zednik ’94, Chief Executive, EurActiv.com, Brussels, Belgium, rickzednik[at]yahoo.com

Alumni Board Subcommittees

Admissions
Communications
Development
J-Ten (graduates from the last 10 years)
Programs
International

Alumni Board Emeriti

David Peterkin '82
Alexis Gelber ’80
Steve Wolgast ’92
Shahabadeen Karim ’95
Steve Litt '80

About the Alumni Board

Each board member serves staggered terms, which are renewable for a full three-year term (maximum of two terms), and attends three annual meetings.  The Society of Professional Journalists-Columbia chapter president and the alumni director serve as ex-officio members of the board. The chair of the Alumni Association serves as an ex-officio member of the J-School Board of Visitors as well as an ex-officio member of the Columbia Alumni Association.

The Alumni Board was announced in April 2008, the culmination of a two-year process.  In 2006-2007, an Alumni Association Task Force met to examine the mission, goals and best practices of a journalism school's alumni association, following the lead of Columbia University, which undertook an examination of its own Alumni Association.  With the guidance of an outside consultant, the task force developed a strategic plan, which included a mission statement, primary goals and strategies. During 2007-2008, a transition team had the opportunity to lay the foundation for an Alumni Association that would work closely with the alumni relations office and serve as a link between the school and its alumni.

Select the academic degree that interests you:
Apply