Columbia Journalism School
  • Pulitzer_banner
  • Pulitzer_banner

Pulitzer Prizes

The Pulitzer Prizes, established and endowed by Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism founder Joseph Pulitzer (1847–1911), are American awards regarded as the highest national honor in print journalism, literary achievements and musical composition. They are administered by Columbia University in New York City.

Prizes are awarded annually in 21 categories. The first Pulitzer Prizes were awarded on June 4, 1917 and they are now announced each April. Recipients are chosen by an independent board.

Pulitzer Prizes Website


Select the academic degree that interests you: