Columbia Journalism School

Cabot Prizes: How to Enter


Now accepting nominations to the 2016 Cabot Prizes.  

We invite you to submit nominations for the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes, the oldest international awards in journalism, founded in 1938. The prizes recognize a distinguished body of work that has contributed to Inter-American understanding.



2014 Cabot winner Giannina Segnini talks about her career and what the Cabot Prize means to her.  

La entrevista en español con Giannaina Segnini se encuentra aquí.


Who is eligible?

Any journalist and/or news executive who works for any news organization based in the Western Hemisphere or any press association, news service or syndicate that serves such an organization; other individuals, including freelance journalists, with a long record of reporting on the region; all media, including Internet publications.

The Cabot Prizes Board, comprised of journalists and educators concerned with hemisphere affairs, and headed by the dean of Columbia Journalism School will judge the entries. The Trustees of Columbia University, on the recommendation of the dean, will choose the winners. The honorees will be announced in the fall and will receive a Cabot medal and $5,000 honorarium. Special citations may also be awarded. As of 2015, 281 Cabot gold medals and 59 special citations have been conferred.

What makes a Cabot winner?

The Cabot Prizes Board and the dean look for exceptional and courageous reporting that impacts society, and evidence of commitment to important stories over the course of a long and distinguished career. They are particularly interested in hearing about journalists and news organizations that have made a sustained contribution to Inter-American understanding through their coverage of the Americas. The board and the dean are also interested in honoring those journalists who have taken active roles in upholding freedom of the press in the Americas. Although awards have been given to publishers and other managerial personnel, the board is especially interested in honoring individual journalists.


Supported document types include .doc, .docx, .pdf, .rtf, .jpg, .xls. Supporting digital presentations can be sent as links.

As indicated below, please upload each of the following items and provide links for digital presentations.

  • Nominee’s biography and/or CV listing education, journalistic experience and public service, with dates.

  • A statement describing how the nominee has contributed towards international understanding in the Western Hemisphere.

  • At least five but no more than ten (without prior authorization) print articles, television or radio programs or online stories that are representative of the nominee’s work.

  • Please provide a direct link to any media.  Otherwise, please upload it to a site such as YouTube or Vimeo. Links must remain live thru November 2016. If your media is password protected, please provide the password. 



If you know a journalist or media organization that deserves to be recognized, please submit the completed nomination form and pertinent material. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Individuals may also nominate themselves.

Nominations must be signed by the person submitting it. Two to three letters from third parties that explain why the nominee is especially deserving of the prize are also welcome. Supporting material will not be returned.

**If you have been contacted about a previous nomination being considered for the 2016 cycle, please submit additional examples of recent reporting for consideration through the nomination form.**


Abi Wright, Executive Director, Prizes
Columbia Journalism School
2950 Broadway
New York, NY 10027

Follow__twitter_newbird_blue_5 Connect_facebook_f_2 Contact_email_icon_5

Select the academic degree that interests you: