Columbia Journalism School

Cabot Prizes: Board of Judges

These journalists and educators serve as the Cabot Prizes Board. The awards are administered by the trustees of Columbia University.

Carlos Dada: Salvadoran journalist, founder and director of El Faro.  He has worked widely on print, television, radio and online journalism. He won the Maria Moors Cabot Prize in 2011.

June Carolyn Erlick: Editor-in-chief of ReVista, the Harvard Review of Latin America at the David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies. Author of “Disappeared: A Journalist Silenced, the Irma Flaquer Story” and “A Gringa in Bogotá: Living Colombia’s Invisible War,” she teaches journalism at Harvard Extension School and has received two Fulbright Fellowships.

Juan Enriquez Cabot: Authority on economic and political impacts of life sciences. Best-selling author; speaker; investor/co-founder in multiple start up companies; board member for both private and public companies/non-profits. Former founding Director of Life Sciences Project at Harvard Business School. Syndicated columist for Reforma for over a decade. Co-author multiple academic and Harvard business school articles.

John Dinges: The recently retired Godfrey Lowell Cabot Professor of Journalism at Columbia University is an author and journalist specializing in Latin America. He received a Maria Moors Cabot Prizes medal in 1992.

Gustavo Gorritti: Peruvian journalist, the founder of lDL Reporteros, a non-profit, investigative journalism site.  He covered government corruption for Peruvian and Panamaian newspapers for many years.  He is a recipient of a Nieman Fellowship at Harvard University and a winner of the Maria Moors Cabot Prize in 1992.

Carlos Lauría: Originally from Argentina, Lauría settled in New York in 1994 as U.S. bureau chief correspondent for Editorial Perfil, Argentina’s largest magazine publisher. He is the Americas Program Coordinator at the Committee to Protect Journalists since 2002, and chief strategist and spokesperson for CPJ on press freedom issues in the region.

Julia Preston: A national correspondent for The New York Times. Preston covered and lived in the Americas for many many years. She is currently based in New York and travels in the United States and overseas on matters related to immigration. Preston received a Maria Moors Cabot Prize in 1997.

María Teresa Ronderos, Chair: Originally from Colombia, Ronderos is the Director of the Open Society Foundation's Program on Independent Journalism. She is best known for her work on the magazine "Semana". She previously served as Director of, an online media publication focused on Colombia's armed conflict.  Ronderos has published stories in Argentina, Mexico and Chile.  She received the King of Spain Ibero-American Award in 1997 and has taught journalism workshops in Latin America.   She received a Maria Moors Cabot Prize in 2007.

Paulo Sotero: He currently serves as director of the Brazil Institute of the Woodrow Wilson Center in Washington, D.C. For 17 years, he served as a Washington correspondent for Estado de S. Paulo. Sotero served as adjunct lecturer at the Georgetown University Center for Latin American Studies of the Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service. He received a Maria Moors Cabot Prize special citation in 1987.

Tracy Wilkinson: She covers foreign affairs out of the Los Angeles Times' Washington bureau. She has reported on wars, crises and daily life on three continents. Her career began with UPI, where she covered the Contra war in Nicaragua. She moved to the Times in 1987, first as a writer on the Metro staff, then as a foreign correspondent based in San Salvador. In 1995, she moved to Vienna where she covered the war in the Balkans, and won the George Polk Award in 1999, and then moved to Jerusalem. In 2008 she became Mexico bureau chief for the Times. Wilkinson received a Maria Moors Cabot Prize in 2014. 

Follow__twitter_newbird_blue_5 Connect_facebook_f_2 Contact_email_icon_5

Select the academic degree that interests you: