Columbia Journalism School
  • Cabot-slideshow-1
  • Cabot-slideshow-1

Cabot Prizes


Godfrey Lowell Cabot of Boston founded the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes as a memorial to his wife, in 1938. The awards, the oldest international prizes in journalism, are awarded each fall to journalists in the Western hemisphere who, through their sustained and distinguished body of work, have contributed to Inter-American understanding. Occasionally the award is given to an organization that has made a similar contribution.

Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism administers the prizes. The president of Columbia University presents the winners with their awards in a formal ceremony in the beautiful rotunda of Low Memorial Library, on the University’s main campus in New York City. As of 2013, 269 Cabot gold medals and 54 special citations have been awarded to journalists from more than 30 countries in the Americas.

Premios Cabot
Desde su creación en 1938, el premio Maria Moors Cabot ha reconocido a los más distinguidos trabajos periodísticos que han ayudado a fomentar un mayor entendimiento interamericano. Los premios Cabot fueron creados por el fallecido doctor Godfrey Lowell Cabot de Boston, en memoria de su esposa. Cada año, se entrega este premio a tres o cuatro periodistas que, a través de la constancia en su trabajo a lo largo de su carrera, han contribuido a mejorar las relaciones en el continente americano y a fomentar un mayor entendimiento panregional. También han recibido el premio distintas.

Cabot Prizes website »


Lisa S. Redd, Associate Director, Cabot Prizes
Columbia University Journalism School
2950 Broadway
New York, NY 10027





Select the academic degree that interests you: